Award for Journalists from Southeast Europe (Solidarity Award)

In 2021, the Southeast Europe Association awarded the Solidarity Award for journalists from Southeast Europe for the first time.

The Solidarity Award honors courageous journalists from our partner countries, who often expose themselves to great personal risks due to their critical reporting. It aims to honor their outstanding work and to recognize their contribution to the promotion of democracy, rule of law, and freedom of the press. The award is also intended to contribute to the protection of journalists on the ground through the public attention it attracts and to honor the great achievements of the award winners.

With the award, the SOG wants to demonstrate that it stands by those who speak up for our European values such as freedom of the press and freedom of expression. The prize will be awarded at a specially designed event and is financed entirely through donations.

Proposals for potential award winners can be submitted until March 31 of each year. Please email the completed proposal form to:

Donations for the award can be transferred to the donations account of the Southeast Europe Association:  

Deutsche Bank München
IBAN: DE03 7007 0024 0207 1900 05
Reason for Payment: „Sonderspende Journalistenpreis“  

Or donate with just a few clicks via Paypal: